Presentation Dinner at Edgeley Park marks end of L & C season

The curtain came down on another compelling L & C season with the Presentation Dinner held at the home of National League Champions Stockport County.

It was a fitting conclusion to the league’s 113th season and was a welcome return of the presentation evening after the covid-enforced absence.

There were nearly 200 people in attendance at Edgeley Park, where the league’s successful teams received their trophies and medals to celebrate their outstanding achievements throughout the season in league and cup competition.

Entertainment came in the form of guest speaker Jon ‘The Beast’ Parkin, who provided a colourful glimpse from his career which saw him score 164 goals including 45 in 199 appearances at Championship level for Hull, Stoke, Preston and Cardiff.

The evening was coolly led by MC John Melia with some excellent refreshments followed by a welcome to clubs, players and distinguished guests by league chairman Mike Yates. This was followed with a toast to the L & C by LAL chairman Simon Lord and an outline of the season from the League President Tim Roebuck (Abacus Media FC).

Special awards went to Tameside’s Peter Darby for Referee of the Year, Phil Savill of Bury Ams who was awarded Secretary of the Year, Abacus Media won the Fair Play award, and finally an award for retiring L & C Secretary Brian Davies for his 14 years of stellar service in the role.

Jon Parkin was next up with his enjoyable entertainment and the evening was concluded with the presentation of the trophies to the successful teams beginning with the cup winners who had already received their trophies and medals at the finals.

The league winners were:

Premier Division: De La Salle Reds, runners-up Moston Brook

Division One: Chadderton Cott, runners up Shaw Athletic

Division Two: Irlam Tiger Rangers, runners up Hattersley

Division Three: Village Manchester, runners up Chadderton Park,

Division A: Kartel Sports, runners-up North Walkden reserves,

Division B: Aldermere reserves, runners-up Heaton Mersey,

Division C: Mellor reserves, runners-up Dukinfield Athletic,

Division D: Whalley Range A, runners-up Bury Ams A.

The final trophy was the SE Woollam Trophy for the club with the top points total from their top two teams and it went to Irlam Tigers.