Lancashire and Cheshire AFL

110th Year Presentation Dinner

at The Renaissance Hotel, Manchester

on Friday 17th May 2019

The Lancashire and Cheshire AFL enjoyed a great celebration of its 110th season in style at the Renaissance Hotel in Manchester with around 300 attendees from the league, clubs and guests enjoying a memorable evening at an excellent venue.

The L and C chairman Mike Yates welcomed the distinguished guests who included main speaker Dermot Gallagher, a former Premier division referee, officials from the Lancashire Amateur FL, Manchester FA. League Sponsors Stuart Whiteman of Bodytech, GP Property Management who sponsor the Rhodes Cup, Paul Hett Trophys, Primeprint, Holt and Marsh and auditor Dave Powell

There was also a good attendance of former league Presidents and committee members with Mike again paying tribute to the league over many years.

Mike also gave a summary of another busy and successful season for the biggest Saturday amateur soccer league in the region.

 Following a toast to the league proposed by Dermott Gallagher the league President Mike Jones (Stoconians) outlined the highlights of the season with a particular mention to the hard work done by the league management committee and club officials.

This was followed by a special presentation of league ties to players and officials who have completed 25 years of service in the league including four from Rochdalians and one from Old Stretfordians.

More presentations followed with Ian Ward (Santos) winning the Secretary of the Year award, Mike Crump the Referee of the Year and AFC Oldham the Fair Play award and current President Mike Jones with a trophy as a memento of his year in office.

Dermot Gallagher gave an excellent insight into his long career in the game, with plenty of funny stories, before the main trophies were given out to the top clubs in each division.

The Knock-Out Cup winners were:

Rhodes Cup (with GP Property Management) – Salford Vics

Wray Cup – Radclyffe FC

Whitehead Cup – Chadderton Cott

Hellawell Shield – Irlam Tigers Reserves

The Divisional winners were:

Premier Division

Winners – Rochdalians

Runners up – High Lane

Division One

Winners – Dom Doyle

Runners up – Parrs Wood Celtic

Division Two

Winners – Newton (their first-ever trophy win in the league)

Runners up – Hollingworth

Division Three

Winners – Radclyffe

Runners up – Dukinfield Athletic,

Division A

Winners – Chadderton Cott

Runners up – Elton Lib Hargreaves,

Division B

Winners – AFC Stockport

Runners up – Old Stretfordians Reserves

Division C

Winners – Deans

Runners up – Old Stretfordians 3rds.

Aggregate Trophy – Parrs Wood Celtic

Fair Play Trophy – AFC Oldham

Secretary of the Year – Ian Ward (Santos)

Referee of the year – Mike Crump